Freya’s spring style & pillows

In Finnish: Tiedättekö sanonnan, että suutarin lapsilla ei ole kenkiä? Täällä tuntuu olevan se tilanne, joskaan kyse ei ole suutarista vaan ompelijasta, jonka tytöillä ei ole vaatteita.

Do you know the saying that shoemaker’s own children don’t have any shoes? At least in Finland we have such a saying. In this case I am not a shoemaker but perhaps we could stretch the saying: seamstress’ girls don’t have any clothes. So very true around here.

Because, with the saying or not, the situation is pretty severe with my crew of girls. Even if I consider myself a seamstress I seem to avoid making clothes for my girls. With that concluded I decided to try to make something with a serious intent for Freya for the coming spring time, using one of the previously completed corset tops as a basis for the dress. And I must say I am pretty happy with Freya’s new pastel mint style.

A hint of yellow and green is hidden in the skirt. Tiny silk flowers. Previously completed flower headband adds in some color to the whole. I cannot seem to be able to decide which hair style is better…

One of a kind pillow covers on Etsy

I mentioned these in my previous posts. Finally completed, in two different sizes and designs, you can find these unique decorative elements from Etsy. Japanese design comes in size 50 x 50cm, pretty common size for decorative pillows. Pillow case has four wooden buttons on its back-side. Rectangular pillow comes in size 50cm x 24 cm, a bit of an odd size. It closes from the other end with four pattern buttons. The fabric in itself is Studio Ghibli’s Kiki’s Delivery Service Jiji cat -themed. Both are great decorative elements for anyone who loves Japanese style or the said movie. Have a further look at Etsy.

il_fullxfull.1186315032_gzj0Lovely sunshine has inspired me to do more decorative elements. However, there are more than few designs that are waiting for me to proceed. More news coming up soon!~

Leave a Reply

