Gosick ゴシック by Kazuki Sakuraba

I have decided on a new approach with the blog.

I shall update once a week with a new post on something dolly related. Tsukifly/Etsy updates will still come once a month. Thus, there will be three updates per month, one of which is guaranteed sewing/Etsy/Tsukifly related.

Gosick ゴシック

A great new discovery!

Gosick (ゴシック) is a novel series by Kazuki Sakuraba. Just recently discovered by me as it appears to have quite many elements I am a fan of. In style of 1924 and set in a fictional European country of Sauville (or “Saubure” as in anime) located somewhere between France and Italy, an exchange student Kazuya Kujo discovers a mysterious girl, Victorique de Blois, in the the library. She has a brilliantly sharp mind and is frequently consulted by her brother Det. Grevil de Blois to solve tricky mysteries.together-1

Basically all the elements to keep me entertained. So lately I have been watching Gosick anime. There is quite a lot of manga to read. And then I  learned that it has been so popular that Volks and Groove have jumped on the opportunity already.

There are quite lovely Super Dollfies of Gosick main characters. Don’t they look nice together? Personally I must say Kazuya Kujo is just so nice. Yes. A boy too. Usually male dolls do not really work for me but Kazuya kinda tempts me. In his own disturbing way. Perhaps its the appeal of him being “the third son of the imperial soldier”?  The line Victorique regards so unconvinient as to thank Kazuya for not stating it too often.

These two look goood together. Did I say that already? Let’s speculate for a second. If I was to consider a boy in my crew I would probably go for Kazuya. Not because I like the series and character itself but because I like the features of the doll itself. A rare occasion. If he would not work as a boy the head would make a lovely girl too. The smile!

As such these dolls are not a news. They were made by Volks already in 2011. So quite a while back. Groove got around a while later than Volks what comes to Gosick related dolls. Kazuya Isul and Victorique Pullip came around. Of these two I think Victorique Pullip has together-1quite a lot of character.

While BJDs are my passion I am 10 times more tempted with those expensive Volks dolls than Groove’s Pullip adaptations but they are all quite well thought out. I am glad these theme dolls are made once in a while as it is great to see how they turn out to reflect the character’s of a specific series with their features and clothes. A complete set.

For me though, even if I were to get a doll which is a reflection of character in a specific series it probably would not stay as such. It would have to transform and become a character unique for me, with a name, style and story of it’s own. Otherwise it would not stay around for very long. My guess is.

I might just be inclined to add Kazuya on my long term doll wish list…

One thought on “Gosick ゴシック by Kazuki Sakuraba

Leave a Reply

