Instagram & Volks Dollfie Dreams

Instagram my dear ladies and gentlemen!

More updates for the new year! Tsukifly has an instagram account. I welcome everyone to follow as I intend to drop teasers of the new/on-going projects through that channel. One such teaser is already in, showing off the other new creation for the next Etsy update. I felt it was time to get around intagram also because I have been told for quite some time I should get one… So there you are ^^

Volks Dollfie Dreams

Another topic to discuss are Volks Dollfie Dreams. It has been 12 years since I first found these lovely dolls made of vinyl. So light compared to resin and their cute anime looks guarantee their appeal. They also hold their poses well, much better than the strings of the regular BJDs. Various possibilities to create a suitable body & head combination in size and style generally give you rather free playground.

Speaking of DDs I consider I have some experience as I started my BJD hobby with a DD. In 2005 my DD was the first one in Finland (to my knowledge). She was a Volks DD Sirius product model (white ver.) An old picture of how she turned out to look over the years. However, sad to say I later sold across the world for she didn’t inspire me anymore as she used to. I must also say I wasn’t such a big fan of the base body II she used to have.

relaxing_by_tsukie_san

When I think back the possibilities with DDs there were not that many. Only normal skin color existed, limited supply of parts and optional heads. Now we have white, semi-white and normal. Four bust types, two torso types, four sizes: DD dynamite (DDdy), Dollfie Dream Sister (DDS), DD (original base bodies such as II and III) and Mini Dollfie Dream (MDD). Then these different torso types, the newest probably being the one-piece torso. More optional heads, more hands (I should order some!)

After having sold my first DD doll, I didn’t have one for a year or two. At some point I started to look back at them for the lightness and their overall looks still had appeal over me. A lot of new models had come around as well. I don’t quite remember how I came across Saber and there are many versions of her but the one with green eyes! Well, I was sold. Once again. The problem was how to find the right version and how to get her head 30521295210_61a5834920_bas I didn’t want the body of the original release.

Strangely enough it didn’t take all that long until a head of the right version appeared around DoA. Of course I had to jump on the opportunity! I wanted a little shorter DDS body for her so I got all the relevant pieces through DoA as well. Back in 2014 I did an assembling guide of DDS body as I got the parts of the DDS body. The Saber Extra head came around a month or so later. My second DD girl was home.

My Saber’s name is Rein. However, any character plans I may have had  for her didn’t seem quite right. I was already at the brink of selling her on more than one occasion. It seemed her style started to came around at the last minute as I got a milky white ringlet wig that is so far certainly my favorite on her. Now she has a rough sketch of a story/character linked to few other characters. I should get around writing it down. Also I now have an idea of some clothes I would like to try for her. Great timing for inspiration as I intent to make use of some of the fabrics I have stored in my boxes.

A long standing dream – for such time Volks will hopefully again re-release her (Sasara Kusugawa) with some other body than DDdy or I happen to come across some dazzling opportunity to get her otherwise. The prices are ludicrous at present…

img_sasara_wg03

Another thing I may consider at some point, largely because of the size, is an MDD. Even more compact size than DDS I would like to have one as a model. No character ideas for such a thing though. Smaller sizes are not that easy for me. I have had plenty of tinies and MSD sized dolls but usually I end up selling them after trying a while to bond with them. So far only three in smaller sizes have remained. Two MSDs and a tiny. SD or the size ~ 58cm seems to be my favorite.

And! A new light background for the blog as well. A minor change as I still like the overall layout of the blog. Although I noticed I should update the header photo as well. Some of the photos are rather old and it is also missing Lunetta altogether…

2 thoughts on “Instagram & Volks Dollfie Dreams

Leave a Reply

